Essex County Virginia

Essex County Electoral Board

About the Electoral Board

The Electoral Board is composed of three members appointed by the county Circuit Court judges (§24.2-106). Each member serves a staggered three year term. The Electoral Board:

  • Appoints the General Registrar to a four year term
  • Appoints Over 40 Officers of Election
  • Oversees elections and reports results to the State Board of Elections

The Electoral Board does not have by-laws, but is subject to the provisions of the Code of Virginia as outlined in §24.2.

Current Electoral Board Members

Edgar C. Robinson, Jr. – Chair

Term expires: February 28, 2022

 Richard O. Lyman - Vice Chair

Term expires: February 28, 2021

 Gwendolyn H. Darby – Secretary

Term expires: February 29, 2020

Electoral Board Meetings

The Electoral Board does not have an established regular meeting schedule, and meets on an as-needed basis in the office of the general registrar, 205 S. Cross St, Suite B, Tappahannock. Next meetings are scheduled at the end of each meeting.

Notice: The Electoral Board will meet on Wednesday, May 1, 2019 @10:00am to appoint the Director of Elections/General Registrar to a new 4 year term and discuss election preparations.  Posted 3/15/2019 1:12pm.

Electoral Board Minutes

Essex County Electoral Board Minutes

To contact the Electoral Board

Office: (804) 443-4611

Fax: (804) 443-4157